The Award for Development Journalism

At its best, journalism helps us understand the world and its complex phenomena. The Award for Development Journalism is awarded annually in January.

The Finnish Red Cross, Vikes, Helsingin Sanomat Foundation and the Union of Journalists in Finland have established the award to highlight high-quality and innovative journalistic publications on global issues and to increase the visibility and appreciation of Finnish development journalism.

Candidates must be published in media that are committed to the journalist’s guidelines and are members of the Council of Mass Media in Finland, and whose target audience is in Finland. The content must have been published in Finnish, Swedish, Sami or English.

A cash prize of €3 000 will be awarded to the winner, and honourable mentions may be given out. The prize is taxable income for the recipient.

Nominations are always invited at the end of the year, usually between October and December, and the winner is decided by an independent jury.

In 2022, the theme of the prize was women, girls and gender equality and the jury included:

  • Tatu Blomqvist, Yle
  • Jaana Hirsikangas, UN Women
  • Karoliina Knuuti, Maailman Kuvalehti
  • Liselott Lindström, freelancer
  • Maria Manner, Yle

In 2022, the prize was won by the Finnish Journal of Culture The Afghan Eye blog and the Learning Together network behind it. The jury also awarded two honourable mentions. The first one went to Zahra Karimy, Marleena Lammikko, Roosa Kuosmanen and Juuso Koivisto from the Afghanistan series, which Yle Kioski has presented in Tiktoki.

The second honourable mention was awarded to Hanna Nordenswan and Liselott Lindström for their Yle documentary “Under the Kenyan rainbow”.

Logo: development journalism award

For more information, contact

Pekka Reinikainen
Advocacy expert
Finnish Red Cross
[email protected]
040 178 2235

Esa Salminen
Communications specialist
Communication and Development Foundation Vikes
[email protected]
050 464 9532

Proposal for the Development Journalism Prize

4 + 6 =

The founders of the award

SPR logo
Vikes small logo
Journalists' Union logo
Helsingin Sanomai Foundation logo